Kolkata Underwater Metro Route, Time and Ticket Prices

Representative Image
Representative Image

PM Narendra Modi inaugurated India's first-ever underwater metro route on Wednesday (March 6) in Kolkata. This underwater metro project is known as India's initial step towards infrastructural development. After the inauguration, Prime Minister Modi took a ride in the underwater metro train with school children.

The underwater metro railway initiated by PM Modi includes operations from the Kavi Subhash Metro, Majerhat Metro, Kochi Metro, Agra Metro, Meerut-RRTS section, Pune Metro, and Esplanade section of the Kolkata Metro.

List of the Stations Between the East-West Metro Corridor

Currently, only the Sealdah to Salt Lake Sector V stretch of the East-West corridor is operating. This stretch has eight stations in its route. They are:

Sealdah, Phoolbagan, Salt Lake Stadium, Bengal Chemical, City Centre, Central Park, Karunamoyee, and Salt Lake Sector-V.

After all these stations have become operational, three other stations will be added to this list. They are:

Howrah Maidan, Howrah Station Complex, and BBD Bagh (Mahakaran). Among these stations, Howrah Metro Station will be the deepest metro station in India.

Kolkata Under Water Metro Routes

The underwater corridor runs from Howrah Maidan to Esplanade, a 4.8 km stretch. It is the second section of the East-West Metro corridor between Howrah Maidan and Salt Lake Sector V.

Kolkata Under Water Metro Ticket Prices

Ticket prices start at Rs 5 and can go up to Rs 50, depending on the station's distance. The fare for the first two kilometres is Rs 5; then it increases to Rs 10, Rs 15, Rs 20, Rs 25 and so on, up to Rs 50.

Timings about the Kolkata underwater metro train are not fully known. The railway department is expected to announce the official timings of the Kolkata underwater metro train soon.