Chennai Rains: 9 Districts Declared Holiday For Schools In Tamil Nadu

Representative Image
Representative Image

Chennai, Chengalpattu, Tiruvannamalai, Villupuram, Kallakurichi, Cuddalore, Ariyalur, Perambalur, Thanjavur, Thiruvarur, Nagai, Mayiladuthurai, Pudukottai, Trichy and Namakkal districts will receive heavy rain today as per the metrological department.

Chengalpattu, Villupuram, Kallakurichi, Cuddalore, Perambalur, Ariyalur, Trichy, Thanjavur, Thiruvarur, Nagai, Mayiladuthurai, Salem, Namakkal, Erode and Nilgiri districts will receive heavy rain tomorrow. As of yesterday morning, the maximum rainfall in Rameswaram was 5 cm, and the minimum rainfall was 1 cm in Chennai in 24 hours.

Chennai and its surrounding areas like Anna Salai, Tiruvallikeni, Marina Beach, Chepakkam, Xanthoma, Pattinapakkam, Thenampettai, Guindy, Velachery and Adyar received heavy rain. Due to this, rainwater stagnated on the roads. This caused heavy traffic, and motorists suffered.

Today (November 1), the respective district administrations have announced that only schools will be given a holiday in Chennai, Kanchipuram, Chengalpattu, Thiruvallur, Thanjai, Mayiladuthurai and Thiruvarur districts, and schools and colleges in Nagai districts.