Prolonged depression in the Bay of Bengal May Cause Heavy Rain in 6 districts of Tamil Nadu

Chance of heavy rain in 6 districts of Tamilnadu
Chance of heavy rain in 6 districts of Tamilnadu

Already August month received record rainfalls across India, and it is set to continue in September also. The southwest monsoon rains are continuing in many parts of Tamil Nadu. Chennai received rains up to 17.9 mm on September 14, night. The low depression formed on the Andhra Pradesh coast in the Bay of Bengal has developed into an intense low depression now centered near Kakinada. It may bring heavy rains to six districts in Tamil Nadu and light showers in many other districts. Fishers are warned not to venture into the Bay of Bengal as winds at 45 to 55kms are expected.

Puviarasan, RMC director, confirms rains in Tamil Nadu. 

The  RMC or Regional  Meteorological Center in Chennai director Puviarasan confirmed to media of rains in Tamil Nadu.  Six districts to  receive heavy rains include

  • Vellore
  • Tiruvallur
  • Krishnagiri
  • Dharmapuri
  • Ranipettai
  • Tirupattur

Districts to receive moderate rains include

  • Tiruvannamalai
  • Kancheepuram
  • Salem
  • Namakkal
  • Villupuram
  • Kallakurichi
  • Coimbatore
  • Nilgiris

Chennai and Chengalpattu districts, after receiving moderate rains day before yesterday night, is to have light showers with pleasant weather. Many parts of the Coimbatore district also received two cms of rains on Monday. The other parts of districts that received up to one cm include Nilgiris, Salem, Kancheepuram, and Tiruvallur.

Fishers are also advised not to venture into the Kerala – Karnataka coasts as winds of 45 to 55kms speed expected in these places from September 17 to 19. The central Bay of Bengal is expected to have winds of 45 to 55 kms on September 18 and 19. And from September 15 to 19, the southwest Arabian sea will have winds of the same speed.

Warning of waves to rise from 3 to 3.5 meters in south Tamil Nadu coasts in Kulachal and Dhanushkodi on September 16 night at 11:30, is announced by the RMC.